The God in our singularity

“Read the good shit, forget about the Bible.”

My world came crashing down as my media studies lecturer spoke those words with not even an ounce of remorse on his face. The question I had poised inside my head was, “Why the Bible?”

We live in an era where nothing and no one is being challenged.  Though I was highly offended by what this man said, he provoked me to look at myself. Not look at who I am under the titles given to me by the ideologies created by man, but who I am as a single person. The next question I asked myself was, “who do you represent?” Too often we live out the concepts of those in higher authority. We never question, never make things personal.

God has been taken out of our schools, universities, homes and even our hearts. The reason for this is because we live our lives like robots. We need to wake up. Read the paper that speaks the thoughts. Quit being lukewarm. Fight for what is being taken away from us so that we can stand up for what we believe in.

 

“What you need is sustained

outrage… there’s far too much

unthinking respect given to

authority.”

– Molly Ivins

One Reply to “The God in our singularity”

Leave a Reply

